Skip navigation

Lately, I been trying, hopefully like a lot of other people, to be a bit more aware of the environment. I.E. remembering to switch my computer off when I leave it for a long time, not leaving the tap on for nothing, that sort of thing. And it got me thinking about how being disabled might effect how ‘green’ I actually am.
To be honest, I’m getting a bit confused over this. I mean, on the one hand I think I am more green than the average person: I never have any lights on and I’ll never have my own car. but on the other hand, there are all the electronic gadgets I use because I’m disabled: computer, daisy player (a device for playing audio books, designed for the visually impaired), colour detector (the name is self explanitory) and of course my hearing aids. These guzzle up batteries at the rate of about two a week – one in each aid.

There’s also the issue of braille books. These use far more paper than the average print books. Braille only comes in one size. That is however one thing i can ‘make up for’ by putting read books out to be recycled.
And all my varius electronic devices? Like I said above, I switch off my pc whenever I leave the room for longer than ten minutes. And I give old hearing aid batteries – and eye drops – to my parents to give to a special bus that comes round every so often to collect and dispose of those kinds of things.

So, does not using lights and not having a car really make up for all the energy I use with my other electronics? I really don’t know. There’s probably a way of working it out, but to be perfectly honest, I can’t really be bothered.
I think, that doing your best where you as an individual can, is all you really can do to save the planet.
It’s probably become a terrible clishé, but I’m going to say it anyway: it’s not easy being green.

2 Comments

  1. The most glamorous creations onn the planet have been going down a storm on thhe catwalks off London,
    Paris, New York. ‘ Personally I don’t think it is a mall gadget foor Collagen 2 Arthritis.

    Especially, when you stack that 10% against waxing or
    tweezing. Cover your boy in heavy moisturizer each night before you goo under
    the knife than ever before. Sales of the me Home-Use collagen 2 arthritis System in Canada.
    Get stuffs like a loofa or any product which is complementary to the Vela Shape
    family of elos based body sculpting products.

  2. Unquestionably believe that which you stated. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the web the
    easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I certainly get annoyed while people think about worries that they plainly do not know
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as well as
    defined out the whole thing without having side
    effect , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to
    get more. Thanks


Leave a comment